Sudirman Cup: Finland Face China in Opening Tie

Finland, who are hosting their first BWF Major Event – the TotalEnergies BWF Sudirman Cup Finals 2021 — have a formidable task on court as they face powerhouses China on the opening day.

The hosts face the 11-time winners in one of the three opening ties at Vantaa on 26 September 2021. Interestingly, this is the first time since 2007 that Finland are taking part in the Sudirman Cup after having competed in the first 10 events beginning 1989.

The three opening ties, which start 10am Finland time, are: China versus Finland, Thailand versus India (both Group A) and Chinese Taipei versus Tahiti (Group B).

Korea, who are four-time winners and the second most successful team after China, take on Germany in the second session that starts 4pm local time.

Indonesia, who won the inaugural Sudirman Cup on home soil in 1989 but haven’t matched that achievement since, will be looking to revive their glory days when they start their campaign in the second session of the opening day, against ROC (Russian Olympic Committee) in Group C. European powers Denmark, who are looking for their first Sudirman Cup title, start their assignments facing Canada, also in Group C.

Japan were title favourites at the last edition of the Sudirman Cup in Nanning, but could not finish their campaign on a high note as they crashed 3-0 to China. After a mostly disappointing campaign at their home Olympics, Japan will be looking to make amends. They will expect a comfortable opener against Egypt in Group D in the first session of the second day. Another Asian power, Malaysia, too start the same time, against England, also in Group D.

There are a total of 16 teams in four groups. The quarterfinals draw will be held after all the group matches are completed on Thursday 30 September; all four quarterfinals will be held the next day. The semifinals will be on Saturday, followed by the final on Sunday 3 October at 1pm local time.