Fireworks Begin Today!

Sunday, May 21, 2017

Ten-time champions China begin their title defence at the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup 2017 as they take on Hong Kong in their opening sub-group 1A encounter today at the Carrara Sport and Leisure Centre in Gold Coast, Australia.

The defending champions face Hong Kong at 12 noon local time. The session will feature four matches – apart from China vs Hong Kong, the first session will see Vietnam vs New Zealand; Scotland vs Canada (both sub-group 2A), and New Caledonia vs Guam (sub-group 3A).

The second session begins at 6pm local time. Three-time champions Korea face Russia in sub-group 1B, while last edition runners-up Japan take on Germany in sub-group 1C. There will be two matches from sub-group 3B – Sri Lanka vs Fiji and Slovakia vs Tahiti.

Group 1 has 12 teams fighting it out for the title. The top two teams of the four sub-groups will qualify for the quarter-finals, which will be held at 6pm local time on Thursday and 12noon local time on Friday (25 and 26 May). The final placings of Group 2 and Group 3 will also be completed by Friday. The semi-finals of Group 1 are scheduled over two sessions on Saturday 27 May, while the final will be at 1pm local time on Sunday 28 May.

Featured image: Canada’s Michelle Li at practice yesterday