A Brief History

The Sudirman Cup is the World Mixed Team Championships that is held every two years. The Sudirman Cup is a test of the all-round strength of a team. There are five matches in every tie: Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles.

The first Sudirman Cup was played at Bung Karno Stadium in Indonesia from 24 to 29 May 1989 with 28 participating teams. The event has been held every two years since 1989. Indonesia won the inaugural edition at home – the one and only time they’ve taken the title. Korea emerged champions in the next two editions, followed by China, who have won all but one event since 1995 (Korea interrupted China’s reign in 2005). China notched up their tenth title victory in Dongguan in 2015.