Egypt Qualify to Sudirman Cup Finals

Egypt are poised to make history by contesting the World Mixed Team Championships for the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup for the first time.

This year, for the first time, the Sudirman Cup is being played in two stages – the continental qualification stage and the forthcoming Finals stage. Egypt qualified by virtue of their World Ranking points, which made them the top team from Africa at the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup Finals 2021, which will be held in Suzhou (China) later this year.

Of the five continental confederations, Asia and Europe have four reserved qualification spots each, while Pan Am, Oceania and Africa are assured of one each. One place is reserved for the hosts and another for the defending champions. The rest of the 16 spots are allocated on the basis of team rankings.

Where the qualification tournament (continental championships) could not take place, the continental confederation was represented based on teams’ overall strength, in terms of the World Rankings of their top singles and doubles pairs in the five categories (men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, mixed doubles) as on 23 February 2021.

Egypt, with a total of 109,913 points, thus qualified as Africa’s No.1 team. Canada and Australia likewise claimed their qualification spots as the top teams from Pan Am and Oceania respectively.

The continental qualification stage for Europe (European Mixed Team Championships) was completed on 20 February 2021. The four semifinalists from the tournament qualified to the Sudirman Cup – Denmark (winners), Germany, ROC and France.

China, No.1 by team ranking, claimed the hosts’ spot, while the four reserved spots for Asia went to Japan, Indonesia, Chinese Taipei and Korea. Thailand took the vacant titleholder allocation, while the other three spots by ranking went to Malaysia, India and England.

The qualified teams are required to confirm their acceptance by 15 March 2021. Dates for the draw and the Finals will be announced in due course.

List of Qualified Teams by Ranking and Allocation:

No.1 China (Hosts)

No.2 Japan (Asia, 1)

No.3 Indonesia (Asia, 2)

No.4 Chinese Taipei (Asia, 3)

No.5 Korea (Asia, 4)

No.6 Thailand (Vacant Titleholder Allocation & World Ranking)

No.7 Denmark (Europe, 1)

No.8 Malaysia (World Ranking)

No.9 India (World Ranking)

No.10 England (World Ranking)

No.11 Canada (Pan Am)

No.12 Germany (Europe, 2)

No.13 ROC (Europe, 3)

No.14 France (Europe, 4)

No.15 Australia (Oceania)

No.16 Egypt (Africa)